Enable publishing restrictions in your Enterprise account

Available on plans:

Free

Professional

Team

Enterprise

Beta

This feature is in open beta. It’s available for use but still in active development and may change.

To keep your important data secure, you can enable Zap restrictions in your Enterprise account that prevents users with member roles from publishing, editing, adding step notes to, turning off, or deleting a Zap without approval by an admin, super admin, or account owner.

 

Enable publishing restrictions 

  1. Go to the Members page in your account settings.
  2. In the Publishing restrictions section, click to toggle the switch on.

Enabling publishing restrictions

Once you enable publishing restrictions, when a member attempts to publish, edit, add step notes to, turn off, or delete a Zap, a modal will appear prompting them to request approval first. They must provide a description of why they’re requesting the change. All admins, super admins, and account owners will receive an email notification of the request.

This setting will apply to all future attempts to publish, edit, add step notes to, turn off, or delete Zaps, including existing Zaps.

Members can also delete their own approval requests. If they do, admins, super admins, and owners will not receive an email notification that the request was deleted and it will no longer appear in the pending approvals list.

Tip

Admins, super admins, and account owners can publish, edit, add step notes to, turn off, or delete a Zap without requesting permission.

 

Approve or deny a request

Any admin, super admin, or account owner can approve or deny a request. They will all receive an email from Zapier notifying them about the request. In the notification email, you can either:

  • Click Review request in the notification email to view all pending requests on the Pending approvals page.
    • Approvals are arranged in chronological order of the request, with the newest request at the top.
  • Click View Zap in editor to view the pending request in the Zap editor.
    • You will be redirected to the Versions section of the Zap editor.
    • The request will appear at the top of the left sidebar.

Pending approval page with pending approval requests Pending approval in the editor left sidebar

Approve a request

To approve a request:

Approval request dialog box

Deny a request

To deny a request:

Request denial dialog box

Once the request is approved or denied, the member will receive an email notification of whether their request was approved or denied as well as any explanation that was provided about their request.

Account admins, super admins, and owners can also review individual pending requests within the Zap editor's Change history section in the left sidebar or all pending requests across the account on the Pending approvals page.

 

Limitations

  • Members can only submit one request per Zap, regardless of request type.
    • The original requestor must cancel the request or the request must be approved or denied before a members can submit the same request for the same Zap.
    • Only the member who submitted a request, admins, super admins, and owners can edit or replace a draft while approval is pending. Other members cannot.
  • Zaps can only have one of each request type pending approval. The 3 types are:
    • Publish a draft (includes adding step notes to a Zap).
    • Turn a Zap on or off.
    • Delete a Zap.
  • Zaps must be in a shared folder before a member can submit a request.
    • If a user builds a Zap in a personal folder, they must move it to a shared folder before they can request approval.
  • Members cannot request to delete multiple Zaps from the Zaps page.
  • Only the member who submitted a request can delete the request.
    • If they delete a request, admins and owners will not receive an email to notify them that the request has been deleted, and it will no longer appear in the pending approvals list.
  • All connected app accounts used in the Zap must be shared before a request to publish can be approved.
  • Publish approval is an account-wide setting, but any Zaps moved into the account from another account are not subject to the new account’s setting.
  • Users do not need to submit approval to:
  • Any Zaps that exist before publishing restrictions are enabled will continue as is until a member attempts to edit, add step notes to, publish a version of, turn off, or delete the Zap.
  • If a Zap contains a restricted app, admins, super admins, and owners will not be able to approve a request to publish the Zap until the app restriction is removed for that user or for the account.
  • If a Zap contains a private app connection, admins, super admins, and owners will not be able to approve a request to publish the Zap until the app connection is shared.
  • Admins, super admins, and owners can make changes to a draft before approving it for publication.
  • If an admin, super admin, or owner approves a Zap for publication, they will appear as the publisher of the draft in the Zap version.
Example
  • If a member submits a request to publish a Zap, they cannot submit any other requests for that Zap, like a deletion request.
  • If a member submits a request to publish a Zap, no other member can submit a request to publish the same Zap until the original request is approved or denied.
    • But anyone can still request to turn off or delete the Zap.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful