Create Zap versions

You can create multiple versions of a Zap, all viewable in the sidebar of the Zap editor.

Create a new Zap version

To create a new Zap version:

  1. Click Edit in the top menu.
  2. Edit your Zap.
  3. When you’re done, click Publish in the top menu to publish the new version of your Zap.
  4. A dialog box will appear.
  5. (Optional) Enter a name for the version in the Version name field to distinguish it from other versions.
  6. (Optional) If you're on an Enterprise plan, you can compare an outline of the current published Zap version to an outline of your draft version.
    1. Click the arrow next to the Compare version section to expand it.
  7. Click Publish.

Compare versions outline

Zap drafts automatically appear in the Versions section of the Zap editor sidebar when you edit a draft. Once published, the following information will appear for the version in the sidebar and top menu in the Editor:

  • The name of the user who published the version.
  • An auto-generated version number.
  • The date and time that the user published the version.
  • A title of the version, if the user created one (sidebar only).

Zap drafts and previous versions in the left sidebar

Note

You can only have one draft at a time. If you attempt to create a new draft when one already exists, a modal will appear asking you to confirm that you want to replace the existing draft. Click:

  • Edit existing draft to continue editing the existing draft.
  • Replace to create a new draft from the most recent published version of the Zap.
Tip

In your Zap history:

  • When you view the Zap details page for a specific Zap run, you can see the specific version name and number that the Zap was run on. It appears at the top of the page, below the name of the Zap.
  • You can search for runs from a specific Zap version using the Search Zap history search box. Enter the version number (for example, "v3") or version name in the search box.

 

View past versions of your Zap

To view a past version of your Zap:

  1. In the Zap editor sidebar, click the Versions icon .
  2. Select the version
  3. Click a step to review a summary of its setup.

 

Review changes to compare versions

Available on plans:

Free

Professional

Team

Enterprise

In addition to comparing versions of the Zap from the publish dialog box, you can also compare versions while editing your Zap. Click the Review changes icon in either:

  • The Versions section of the left sidebar. 
  • The center of the editor outline.

An outline of the current published Zap version will be displayed next to an outline of your draft version.

 

Rename versions

To rename a version:

  1. In the Zap editor sidebar, click the Versions icon
  2. Click the three dot icon three dot icon next to the version you want to rename.
  3. In the dropdown menu, select Rename version. If you didn’t previously create a name, you can name it here.
  4. The current name will be selected. Enter a new version name.

 

Create a new draft from a previous version

With Versions rollback, you can create a new draft based on a previous version of your Zap. There are two ways to roll back to a previous version:

Use a version’s dropdown menu 

  1. In the Zap editor sidebar, click the Versions icon .
  2. Click the three dot icon three dot icon next to the version you want to roll back to.
  3. In the dropdown menu, select Edit from this version.

Use the Edit Zap button in the Zap editor’s top menu

  1. In the Zap editor sidebar, click the Versions icon .
  2. Click a previous version to select it.
  3. In the Zap editor’s top menu, click Edit from vX, where "v" stands for "version" and "X" indicates the selected version of the Zap.

 

Limitations

Plan requirements

Version history for your Zaps is available from October 13, 2022 onward. This feature is available to users on paid Zapier plans, with the following version history timeframes:

Plan Version history length
Free No version history
Starter Versions created within 1 week
Pro Versions created within 1 month
Team Versions created within 6 months
Enterprise Versions created within 1 year

If you upgrade your plan, your version history will increase to your new plan limits.

actionEdit icon Example

For example, if a user upgrades from a Pro plan to a Team plan, their version history will increase from 1 month to 6 months. 

miscEye icon Note

If you're on a Team or Enterprise plan, any member that has access to a Zap can view previous versions of the Zap.

Duplicating and exporting Zaps

When duplicating or exporting Zaps, versions are not included.

Editing and deleting versions

  • Versions can be renamed, but can't be changed or deleted.
  • When you edit your Zap, drafts are created from the version that’s currently in use.
  • When you publish edits to your Zap, they are saved as a new version.
  • Steps associated with a Zap that has changed significantly will not replay. This includes changes to:
    • The order or number of steps in the Zap.
    • The apps used in the Zap.
  • If you're a member of a Zapier Enterprise account and your account admins or owners enabled publishing restrictions, you must request their approval before you can publish, edit, add step notes to, turn off, or delete a Zap.

Learn more about versions in the Zapier Community.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 9 found this helpful