Manage your Zapier for Teams account

Zapier for Teams lets you create teams for you and your co-workers. A team is an account with a single owner and multiple members. As a team, members share a pool of tasks and all usage is billed under one invoice. Teams can also share Zaps and connections to company tools and apps.

After you create a Zapier for Teams account, you can manage different settings in your account.

1. Invite users to your team

  • Go to your member settings.
  • In the upper right, click Add Members.
  • In the Email(s) field, enter the email address for the team member you want to invite. You can invite multiple team members at once by using commas or spaces to separate each email address.

People invited to join your team will receive an email notification to accept the invite. If they don't have a Zapier account already, they'll be able to create one for free. If they already have a Zapier account, they'll be added as a member of your team when they accept your invite.

There's no additional cost for adding a team member—to you, or the person you invite.

miscEye icon Note
  • The invite is only valid for the email used to add the team member. If the person creates an account with a different email address, they won't have access to the Teams account. This also applies to email aliases.
  • If you manually add a member to your team account, they'll have both a team and a personal account.

2. Manage team roles and permissions

There are three roles in Team accounts: Member, Admin, and Owner. The table below indicates the permissions available for each role.

Permissions Member Admin Owner
Access shared folders and connections X X X
Invite others to the account X X X
Move Zaps between shared folders X X X
Share a Zap with others X X X
Transfer ownership of a Zap X X X
Move a Zap to the trash X X X
Delete their own Zap runs or Zap runs from Zaps in shared folders X X X
Export the JSON of a Zap from Zap Details X X X
Export all Zaps from the account     X
Export all Zap runs from the account     X
Export/import their own Zap data X X X
View billing information   X X
Remove team members   X X
Verify a domain   X X
Enable/Disable Autoreplay   X X
Replay any Zap in account     X
Share private Zaps owned by other members     X
Delete private Zaps owned by other members     X
View Zap history for all Zaps in account     X
Rename private folders owned by other members     X
Share private folders owned by other members, except Home folders     X
View all held Zap runs in the account     X
Bulk delete private Zaps from the Zaps page     X
Rename private Zaps owned by other members     X
View all Zaps owned by other members in the Trash     X
Upgrade or downgrade a plan (including task usage)     X
Change the billing interval of a plan     X
Update the account payment method     X
Change the account logo and name     X
Transfer ownership of the account     X
Delete the Team account     X

You can have an unlimited number of members on your team. Each member will have their own account with their own username and password, and can enable two-factor authentication (2FA) on their account. Learn more about data privacy with Zapier for Teams.

To change a user's role:

  • Go to your member settings.
  • For the user whose role you want to change, click the dropdown menu and select the new role to assign them. Your changes will save automatically.

Learn more about data privacy in Zapier for Teams accounts.

miscEye icon Note

You should have at least one admin user on the account to assist with account management.

3. Transfer ownership of your team account

Only the team owner can change the ownership of a Team account to a different team member:

  • Go to your organization settings.
  • In the Owner field, click Transfer.
  • Select the team member to make the new owner.

If the existing team account owner doesn't have a separate Zapier account, a new one will be created for them and they will become a regular member of the team.

miscEye icon Note

If the account owner deletes their account:

  • This will delete the Team account as well.
  • Any invited members will lose membership to that team account.
  • Any invited members will lose access to all Team features including any Zaps in that account.

To avoid this, existing owners should transfer ownership to another member of their account first.

4. Remove users from your team

Before removing users from your team, follow these instructions to offboard your users.

Then:

  • Go to your member settings.
  • For the user you'd like to remove, click the gear icon, then select Remove Member.

When you remove a user from your team:

  • All the private Zaps of the removed member will be paused. Shared Zaps retain their status.
  • Shared Zaps are transferred to the team owner.
  • Shared folders are also transferred to the team owner. This allows members to continue viewing the task history of the Zaps from that folder.
  • Private app connections belonging to the removed member are marked as stale. This will result in tasks being held and members being informed that they have to change that connection to a shared one that belongs to the Team account.
  • Shared app connections belonging to the removed member will be transferred to the team owner.
  • The member is removed from shared folders and shared app connections.
miscEye icon Note

Any Zaps that belonged to a removed member that use a Catch Hook or Catch Raw Hook trigger on the Webhooks by Zapier app will have a new webhook URL, because of the change in ownership. This change will need to be reflected in any external systems that post data to such Zaps.

When a member of a team deletes their personal account:

  • All the private Zaps of the deleted member are permanently deleted. Any shared Zaps created by the deleted member will retain their status.
  • All shared Zaps created by the deleted member are transferred to the team owner.
  • All shared folders created by the deleted member are transferred to the team owner.
  • Any private app connections belonging to the deleted member are also deleted.
  • Shared app connections belonging to the removed member will be transferred to the account owner.
  • The deleted member is removed from all teams, shared folders, and shared app connections.

5. Leave a Team account

If you're not the Team account owner, you can leave a Team account.

Any Zaps you own will be transferred to the Team account owner.

Other features in Team accounts include:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 2 found this helpful