Share app connections with members of your account

When you add an account to Zapier for an app or tool you use, such as Typeform, you create an app connection. This allows you to use the app account in your Zaps. By default, these connections are private, so only you will be able to use the app account in Zaps.

Sharing an app connection makes it available to everyone with whom it's shared. This allows them to create Zaps with the app account without needing your login credentials to that app.

There are three types of app connections:

  • Personal: app connections that you own and haven’t shared.
  • Private: app connections that other members own and haven’t shared.
  • Shared: app connections that you or other members own and are shared.
Tip

You can also share app connections when sharing a Zap with members of your Zapier account.

miscEye icon Note

App connections can only be shared in Team or Company accounts. In Team accounts, you can share app connections with specific users in the account, or with everyone. In Company accounts, you can share app connections with individual users, teams, and all users in the account.

 

Share an app connection

To share an app connection from My Apps:

  • Go to the Apps page.
  • Click the app with the account connection that you want to share with your team.
  • In My connections, find the app account connection to share and click Only you to display the sharing settings.
  • Select specific users or teams (teams can only be selected on Company accounts) to share the app account connection with. To share the connection with all users in your account, select the Share with everyone checkbox.
  • Click Done.

To share an app connection from within the Zap editor:

  • In your Zap, connect your app account.
  • Next to your connected account, click Share.
  • In the modal window, you can either:
    • Enter the name(s) of specific members or teams you want to share your app connection with.
    • Select the Share with everyone checkbox to share your app connection with all members of your account.
  • Click Done.

When you share an app connection, all users who have received access will be able to:

  • View data used to test a Zap.
  • Use the shared app connection in their own Zaps—both private and shared—to access or update information.
  • Edit steps in a team's Zap that uses the shared app connection.
miscEye icon Note
  • You can only share app connections that you created.
  • You can only share an app connection from within the Zap editor if the Zap is in a shared folder.
  • Zap steps that use a private connection can only be edited by the connection owner. Others will see the fields as non-editable. To gain access to edit the step, you can ask the connection owner to share the app connection with you or a team you’re part of.
    • For example, sharing your connection to an email account will let shared connection users read emails in that account that trigger Zaps or are used to test Zap triggers, as well as send emails from that account.
ratingStar icon Tip
  • You can also share app connections while sharing apps with other members of your Team or Company account.
  • It's recommended that you only share app connections that you feel comfortable with giving access to everyone on your team. For example, instead of sharing a connection to a private email account, you can share a connection to a shared email account (e.g., zapier@yourcompany.com) that everyone on your team has access to.

 

Transfer an app connection

To transfer an app connection from My Apps:

  • Go to My Apps.
  • Click the app with the account connection that you want to share with your team.
  • In My connections, find the app account connection to share and click the three dot iconNav: more horiz icon to display the account settings.
  • Select Transfer ownership.
  • Enter the email address of the user you want to transfer ownership of the account to and click Transfer ownership.
miscEye icon Note

When an app connection is transferred, the app account linked remains the same, only the owner of the connection changes.

 

Stop sharing an app connection

To stop sharing an app connection from My Apps:

  • Go to My Apps.
  • Click the app with the account that you want to stop sharing with your team.
  • In My connections, find the app account to stop sharing and click the sharing icon Team:.
  • If you shared the app connection with everyone:
    • Click the Share with everyone checkbox.
    • Click Done.
  • If you shared the app connection with specific users or teams:
    • Click the three dot icon Nav: more horiz next to the name of the user or team.
    • Click Remove. Repeat these steps for any other users or teams.
    • Click Done.

To stop sharing an app connection from within the Zap editor:

  • In your Zap, connect your app account.
  • Next to your connected account, click Share.
  • If you shared the app connection with everyone,
    • Unselect the Share with everyone checkbox to stop sharing with all members of your account.
    • Click Done.
  • If you shared the app connection with specific users or teams:
    • Click Remove Access next to the name of each member or team you want to stop sharing the connection with.
    • Click Done.

When you stop sharing an app connection, your team members will not be able to:

  • Use the app connection in their private Zaps.
  • Use the app connection in Zaps shared with the team.
  • Edit steps in Zaps shared with them that use the app connection.
miscEye icon Note
  • Any Zaps that use your shared app connection will continue to use it. To completely remove access to your private app connection, you must go to each Zap that uses this app connection and update the Zap to use a different one.
  • Although only you will be able to edit steps where the connection is not shared, team members with access to the Zap will still be able to see information sent through Zap History.

If you need assistance with sharing or disconnecting a shared connected account, contact Zapier support.

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 14 found this helpful