What is replay?

After your Zap runs, you may be able to re-run it. This is helpful when your Zap errors or when you want to edit your Zap and re-run it using previous data.

Note

Zapier will attempt to replay your Zaps but cannot guarantee that they will be successful.

 

Replay errored Zaps Replay entire Zap run

Replay errored Zaps

Zap history will display one of five statuses for each step in your workflow. If an action step fails due to a stopped status, you can replay it manually or automatically from your Zap History.

Example

For the following Zap:

  • Trigger: User submits a form.
  • Action: Send an email.
  • Action: Add a spreadsheet row.

If the Zap triggers and successfully sends the email, but fails to add the spreadsheet row, when you replay the Zap, Zapier will:

  • Not replay the trigger.
  • Not replay the email step.
  • Attempt to add a spreadsheet row again.

Manual replay

Available on plans:

Free

Professional

Team

Enterprise

With manual replay, you must initiate a replay yourself.

  • You can only replay steps that failed due to a stopped status.
  • Zapier will replay all stopped actions in the Zap.
  • The Zap run will have a playing status when Zapier attempts to replay it.

Learn more about how to manually replay steps.

Autoreplay

Available on plans:

Free

Professional

Team

Enterprise

If you enable autoreplay, Zapier will replay your Zaps automatically. You can enable autoreplay account-wide for all Zaps in your account, or on a per-Zap basis. Learn more about how to enable autoreplay.

  • Steps autoreplay will attempt:
    • Zapier will replay all stopped actions in the Zap.
    • The Zap run will have a scheduled status until Zapier completes all autoreplay attempts.
    • You can still manually replay a failed action if autoreplay has already scheduled another run.
  • Zapier will attempt to replay the step up to 5 times.
  • Error notifications:
    • Zapier will not send any error notification emails until the final autoreplay attempt fails.
    • Any Zapier Manager Zaps that are connected to the Zap will not trigger until the final autoreplay attempt fails.

A Zap run will have a scheduled status when Zapier attempts to replay it or schedules it for replay later. The interval between failed replay attempts increases each time after the initial Zap run. 

Example

If a Zap initially fails at 1:00 PM:

Attempt Interval between attempts Example
First 5 minutes after initial trigger event 1:05 PM
Second 30 minutes after last attempt 1:35 PM
Third 1 hour after last attempt 2:35 PM
Fourth 3 hours after last attempt 5:35 PM
Fifth 6 hours after last attempt 11:35 PM

The final replay will occur about 10 hours, 35 minutes after the first error.

Limitations of replay from Zap history

  • Your Zap must be turned on.
  • Filter and Paths steps are never replayed.
    • Zapier will not replay them even if replaying a previous failed step would change the conditions used in the Filter or Paths steps.
  • You must have enough tasks left in your account to cover failed steps.
    • You can upgrade your plan if you need to replay steps before your billing cycle resets.
  • You must replay steps within 60 days of the initial trigger event.
  • Autoreplay will not replay Zap runs with a Held status. You must manually replay them in Zap history or in the Zap editor instead. 
  • You cannot replay failed Zap runs if you significantly change the Zap afterwards, including:
    • Deleting one or more steps in your Zap.
    • Delete the entire Zap.
    • Adding one or more steps to the Zap.
    • Moving one or more steps within the Zap.
    • Change the app, trigger, or action used in the Zap to a different app, trigger, or action.
  • You can replay failed Zap runs if you:
    • Change the app, trigger, or action used in the Zap to a new version of the same app, trigger, or action that's comparable to the previous version you were using.
    • Change fields within the Zap, you can replay failed steps.
  • If you turn off autoreplay, Zapier will disable all scheduled future attempts to replay failed actions even if you turn autoreplay back on before the next attempt.
  • If a step is held because of an expired app connection, any scheduled replays will not replay the step until you reconnect your app.
  • In Teams and Companies accounts, you must be an admin or owner to enable account-wide autoreplay.

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 9 found this helpful