Remove members from your Team or Company account

Ensure that your business-critical Zaps continue working even when you remove a member from your Team or Company account. You can review their Zaps and connected apps, then decide if you want to transfer ownership of them to another user.

miscEye icon Note

This feature is available to:

  • Owners of Team accounts.
  • Super admins and owners of Company accounts.

 

Export a CSV of the member’s Zaps and app connections

Before you remove a member, export a CSV of their Zaps and app connections to review. You can also save the CSV for your records.

  • Go to the Members page.
  • In the Search members input box, search for and select the member.
  • Click the three dot icon next to the member.
  • In the dropdown menu, click Download Zaps and app connections (CSV).
  • A CSV will automatically download to your computer.

 

Review the member’s Zaps and app connections

Use the exported CSV to review all private and shared Zaps and app connections that have been published by the member. 

The CSV will contain the following info:

  • Type: indicates whether the row is for a connected app account (“Auth”) or Zap.
  • ID: the unique ID of the connected app account or Zap.
  • Name: the name of the connected app account or Zap.
  • Link: a URL link to the connected app account or Zap page.
  • Private: indicates whether a connected app account or Zap is private.
    • “True” indicates it’s private.
    • “False” indicates it’s shared.
  • App: for a connected app account, the name of the app that’s connected.
miscEye icon Note

When you remove a member from your account:

  • Private Zaps will automatically turn off. You must transfer ownership and update the connected app account before removing the member if you want it to continue running.
  • Shared Zaps will remain on, but ownership will automatically transfer to the account owner. You do not need to transfer ownership before removing the member.
  • It is recommended that you reconnect both private and shared app connections when removing a member. If you do not, the app connections will stop working.

 

Transfer ownership of the member’s Zaps

Private Zaps

You must move private Zaps into a shared folder before transferring ownership.

Move private Zaps to a shared folder

  • In the CSV, click the URL link in the Link field for the Zap you want to transfer ownership of. You will be redirected to the Zap Details page for the Zap.
  • Click Move to folder.
  • In the modal, search for and select the shared folder to move the Zap to.
  • Click Move to folder.
miscEye icon Note

Once you move a private Zap into a shared folder, ownership of the member’s Zap will automatically transfer to the account owner when you remove the member from the account.

Transfer ownership of a single Zap

  • Go to the shared folder.
  • Click the three dot icon next to the Zap.
  • Click Change owner.
  • In the modal, search for and select the member you want to transfer ownership to.
  • Click Change owner.

Transfer ownership of multiple Zaps

  • Go to the shared folder.
  • Select the checkbox next to each Zap you want to change ownership of.
  • At the top of your list of Zaps, next to the enabled checkbox, click the down arrow (or right click anywhere in the Zap) to open the dropdown menu.
  • Select Change owner.
  • Search for and select the member you want to transfer ownership to.
  • Click Change owner.

Shared Zaps

When you remove a member of your account, ownership of their shared Zaps will automatically transfer to the account owner. The member may also transfer shared Zaps to another user prior to being removed.

If you want to transfer ownership to another user, you do not need to move shared Zaps to another shared folder first. 

Change ownership using the CSV

  • In the CSV, click the URL link in the Link field. You will be redirected to the Zap Details page for the Zap.
  • In the left sidebar, click Change owner.
  • In the modal, search for and select the member you want to transfer ownership to.
  • Click Change owner.

Change ownership from the Zap folder

In the folder where the Zap is located:

  • Click the three dot icon next to the Zap.
  • Click Change owner.
  • In the modal, search for and select the member you want to transfer ownership to.
  • Click Change owner.

 

Update the member’s connected app accounts

To ensure Zaps continue running, you must update the member's connected app accounts by connecting the app account of another member of your team.

  • In the CSV, click the URL link in the Link field for the app account you want to update. You will be redirected to the app connection page.
  • Click the three dot icon next to the app account you want to update.
  • In the dropdown menu, select Reconnect.
  • Replace the member’s account by connecting your app account.
miscEye icon Note

Shared app accounts will continue working as long as the member’s app account is valid. It is  recommended that you update both private and shared app connections in any Zaps that you need to continue running.

 

Remove the member

Once you’ve reviewed all of the member’s Zaps and connected app accounts:

  • Go to the Members page.
  • In the Search members input box, search for and select the member.
  • Click the three dot icon next to the member.
  • Select Remove Member.

The account owner will receive a confirmation email notifying them of the removed member. If a super admin removed the member, they will also receive a confirmation email.

If you need more help removing a member, contact Zapier Support.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 4 found this helpful