Manage your Zaps

On the Zaps page, you can organize and manage your Zaps and folders. If you're on a Team or Enterprise account, you'll also find all of your shared folders to collaborate on Zaps with your team. Learn how to organize your Zaps in folders.

 

Understand Zap statuses

Zaps can exist in one of two states:

  • On: Zaps actively check for new data when they are turned on, and perform the action(s) when triggered. A Zap only checks for new data when it’s on/published. A Zap can’t act on data created while it’s off, even after the Zap is published/turned on again.
  • Off: Zaps that are off don’t actively check for new data or perform actions. Zapier automatically turns a Zap off in three situations:
    • If the Zap uses a feature that's no longer available in the account (e.g., multi-step Zaps or premium apps) due to a trial expiration or plan downgrade.
    • If multiple errors occur each time the Zap tries to run. An email notification will be sent if a Zap is turned off due to excessive errors.

 

Manage individual Zaps

To manage a Zap, click the right arrow icon on the right side of the Zap. A sidebar will display the following:

Zap info

  • Avatar and name of the Zap owner.
  • Toggle switch to turn the Zap on or off.
  • Name of the Zap.
    • Click the pencil icon  next to the name of the Zap to rename it.
  • Name of the folder that the Zap is located in.
    • The name is hyperlinked so you can click it to navigate to that folder. 
    • Click the move to folder icon  to move it to a new folder.
  • Notes: view any Zap notes you created. 
  • Published: the most recent date and time that the zone was published.
  • Timezone: the timezone setting for the Zap.

Buttons

  • View in Editor: open the Zap in the Zap editor.
  • Duplicate: create a copy of the Zap.
  • History: open the Zap history for this Zap.
  • Run Zap: if a Zap uses a polling trigger, manually run a Zap outside of its normal polling interval.
  • Share template: share a copy of your Zap, or share it with others in your team if you're on a Teams or Enterprise account.
  • Turn off and delete Zap: move Zap to the Trash folder.
    • If the Zap is already off, you will see a Delete Zap button.
    • If the Zap is still on, you’ll see a Turn off and delete button.
    • Zaps will remain in the trash folder for 30 days before they are permanently deleted.
miscEye icon Note

If the app combination in your Zap supports Transfer, you'll see the Transfer data button.

Apps

The sidebar lists all apps used in the Zap. If you need to reconnect your app, Zapier will display a Reconnect button next to the app.

View Zap info in the sidebar in the Zaps page

 

Search your Zaps

  • Go to Zaps.
  • In the upper left, use the search box to search by:
    • The name of your Zap.
    • The name of your Zap folder.
    • The name of an app used in a Zap. 
    • The webhook URL provided in a Catch Hook or Catch Raw Hook trigger in the Webhooks by Zapier app.
  • Your Zaps will be filtered based on your search parameters and displayed in two tabs:
    • The Zaps tab will display all Zaps that contain your search parameters.
      • The folder that the Zap is located within will appear as a clickable URL link below.
    • The Folders tab will display all folders that contain your search parameters.
      • If the folder is located within another folder, that folder name will appear as a clickable URL link below.
      • If the folder is not located within another folder, nothing will appear below.
ratingStar icon Tip
  • You can filter your search by clicking the right arrow icon in the search box, then selecting Zap or Folder to restrict the search to those parameters.

 

Restore Zaps in the trash folder

Zaps that are moved to the trash folder will remain there for 30 days before they are permanently deleted. To restore Zaps in the trash folder:

  • Go to Zaps.
  • In the left sidebar, click the Trash folder.
  • Click the right arrow icon next to the Zap to open the sidebar.
  • Hover over the name section of the Zap until the move to folder icon appears.
  • Click the move to folder icon .
  • In the dialog box, search for and select the folder you want to move the Zap to.
  • Click Move to folder.
Tip

You can also drag and drop the Zap into the folder that you want to move it to.

Note

If you have a Team or Enterprise account, you can only move Zaps that you own into your private folder. You can move any Zap into a shared folder.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 38 found this helpful