Create drafts of your Zaps

Drafts allow you to make changes to a Zap without turning it off. When you complete your changes, you can publish the draft and it will replace the existing Zap. When you create a draft of a Zap, you can:

  • Save the draft and edit it later.
  • Edit the draft while the Zap continues to run.
  • Publish the draft to replace the current zap.

 

Create a draft in a new Zap

When you create a new Zap, your Zap begins as a draft by default. Zapier automatically saves your draft while you’re working.

 

Publish a draft

When you finish your draft, click Publish in the top right. 

  • Your current draft becomes the current version of the Zap. 
  • Your Zap turns on and will trigger whenever a trigger event occurs in your trigger app.
Note

When you reopen a Zap after publishing it, the Zap will be in read-only mode.

 

Create or edit a draft in an existing Zap

After you publish a draft, you can create a new draft of the Zap with the current Zap on or off.

  • If no drafts exist, click Edit Zap in the top right menu to create a new draft.
  • If a draft already exists, click Edit draft in the top right menu.
  • A dialog box will appear.
    • Click Edit existing draft to continue editing the current draft.

 

Delete a draft

You can delete a draft by replacing it or by deleting it. Deleting a draft is permanent and no changes are made to the current published Zap.

Delete by replacing

  • Click Edit draft in the top right menu.
  • A dialog box will appear.
    • Click Replace to delete the existing draft and begin a new one.

Delete from the left sidebar

  • In the left sidebar, click the Versions icon .
  • Your draft is located at the top of the list.
  • Click the trash icon next to your draft.
  • A dialog box will appear to confirm deletion.
  • Click Delete.

 

Limitations

  • Only one draft can exist at a time.
  • If the Publish button is grayed out, preventing you from publishing the draft, one of the steps in your Zap may need attention.
  • Steps associated with a Zap that has changed significantly will not replay. This includes changes to:
    • The order or number of steps in the Zap.
    • The apps used in the Zap.
  • If you're a member of a Zapier Enterprise account and your account admins or owners enabled publishing restrictions, you must request their approval before the Zap can be published.
Was this article helpful?
22 out of 38 found this helpful